Here's what happens to your social media accounts when you die

Here’s what happens to your social media accounts when you die

Here's what happens to your social media accounts when you die
How will you be remembered?

The advent of has brought with it changes with how people mourn their loved ones.

pages can be set up in tribute. feeds stand as a wonderful testimony to the thoughts and lives of people we love. Instagram pages give us a gallery of those most missed.

Social media accounts have created a digital legacy for all users when they pass away.

For anyone who’s wondered how that legacy can be managed, or how to look after the accounts of someone lost to you, here is our guide to the main accounts.

Facebook

facebook
Facebook users can choose in advance if they’d like their profile to exist as a memorial, or if they wish for it to close down in the event of their passing.

Users are also able to set up a “Legacy Contact“, someone who will be given limited access to your profile after you die.

After your contact posts a final message, your profile can be turned into a memorial where people can post tributes.

Instagram

instagramiphone
As Facebook owns Instagram, there are a number of similarities in

actions that can be taken after you die.

While you account can be memorialised, people will not be allowed to log in as the deceased. Changes to likes, who the account follows and what pictures are currently uploaded are also locked.

While posts from the account can still be access by those following, they are not searchable.

Twitter

twitter

Twitter users cannot have access to their account handed over to someone in the event of their passing, but friends and family of the deceased will have to contact Twitter if they wish for an account to be deactivated.

Email

email1

Gmail will allow friends and family to access content held in a deceased person’s email. Users can also set an “Inactive Account Manager“, which either deletes or shares your account after a certain amount of time has passed.

Yahoo lets loved ones apply for the right to close the email of someone who has passed away.

iTunes and iCloud will not allow access to be shared with anyone in the event of your passing, but following the production of a death certificate, Apple will shut down an account of the deceased.

Eleanore

Eleanore

Main curator on Digitaldeathguide. Supported by a bot. Some articles may need to be weeded, don’t hesitate to tell me !